60 Days of Summer: Week 1

It’s been a while (on the blog, that is) since I did anything as disciplined as A Month of Slow Cooking. To be honest, it took us all a while to get over that. However, as the summer holidays are almost upon us, I’m going to start a new series.

Introducing… 60 Days of Summer!

60 days of summer logo

The idea is inspired from Project 365, but, quite honestly, if I took a photo a day every day, some days you’d just end up looking at piles of exercise books. But during the summer, I’ve got time to have some fun. Seeing as one of the reasons I blog is to make memories, this seems like a really good way of doing that. Also, I want to take the blog more into this direction: sharing what our family is up to as we prepare to move away from Manchester.

I’m starting this on a Thursday, mostly because I don’t work on a Thursday at the moment, so Ben and I tend to have fun. So our first week is a it longer than 7 days long, but that’s ok.

Thursday.jpg

On Thursday, Ben and I got the train to Marple, where we had lunch in a lovely cafe, walked along the canal and went to a lovely play area. The train was definitely Ben’s highlight.

SONY DSC

When Ben napped on Friday (after a tantrum-filled morning), I went out into the garden and tidied up a bit. This hydrangea is looking beautiful.

Saturday

Tim got up early with Ben on Saturday morning and they went outside to play in the garden. They found a little frog, and so tried to make him a temporary pond in a bucket with some branches and leaves. The frog stay around for a good half an hour before leaping away. You can see it in the photo perched on the edge of the bucket.

Sunday 13th

On Sunday, we went to visit Tim’s parents in North Wales. Even though Manchester was in blazing sunshine, in North Wales it was too cold for a barbecue, so Tim and his dad barbecued outside and we ate inside. Ben loves his Grumps, especially doing ‘Half a pound of tuppenny rice,’ like in the photo.

MondayThis is a selfie taken after work. Ben’s current catchphrase is ‘What’s that?’ and that’s just what he’s asking.

Tuesday

Fun with Play Doh after nursery.

Team english.jpgThis is me with my English department. Kim (our lovely head of department) and I are both leaving this year, so we went out for a lovely meal in Gusto in Didsbury to mark the occasion.

Thursday 16thScooting in the park before it got too hot!

Friday 18thBefore going to my leaving staff meeting, Ben and I went to the Trafford Centre. He hasn’t really been there before, as I work so close, so if I needed to go in I would pop in after work. He loved the dolphin fountain!

Saturday 19thIt poured with rain all morning yesterday. So when it finally brightened up, Tim said, “I think we should all get some fresh air,” and we walked to the park. Ben had an amazing time splashing in puddles and got his shoes well and truly soaked.

That was our first 10 days of summer!

Leave a Reply

