The Cake and Bake Show

 

After finally updating my iPhotos, I’ve been able to take my photos off my small camera, so I can finally write some of the photo-heavy blog posts that I’ve been holding back.

Back in April, Tim suggested I went out for a few hours on my own while he looked after Ben. I didn’t have to be asked twice. A quick train ride and a walk later, and I was off into the Cake and Bake Show in Manchester Central.

IMG_3951

As you can see, it was a pretty wet and windy day!

I hadn’t been to an exhibition in Manchester Central before, but the whole process was fairly smooth. I arrived around 1pm, and some people seemed to have been there all day. There were queues to the demonstrations, which were ticketed. Although this would have been nice (demonstrations are often the best part of a day like this), the tickets were gone by the time I got there.

So I spent a few hours happily perusing the stalls, and looking at some of the incredibly decorated cakes on display.

I thought these were quite simple ideas, but incredibly effective (the flowers can be made with a cutter):

IMG_3954 IMG_3955

Kimberley and Frances from GBBO 2013 did a baking demonstration in the ‘Competition Theatre.’ However, they were baking scones. I love GBBO, I loved Kimberley and Frances, and I would love to see them bake in real life. However, I can bake scones. So I moved on.

IMG_3956

 

One of the themes for the professional cake decorators was Childrens’ Cartoons. These were incredible. I really loved the How to Train Your Dragon cake.

IMG_3957 IMG_3958 IMG_3959 IMG_3960 IMG_3961 IMG_3962 IMG_3963 IMG_3964 There were also bugs made from cake and icing: IMG_3967 IMG_3968

Heston Blumenthal-style cakes that didn’t look like cakes at all:IMG_3970IMG_3971

These cake animals were incredible:

IMG_3972  IMG_3974 IMG_3976    IMG_3984 IMG_3985

It wasn’t all cake: there were biscuits too!

IMG_3986

The main theme for a lot of the cakes was ‘Welcome to the Jungle.’ This incredible elephant was created by CakeBomb artists. I witnessed the moment it was cut into (such a shame really), and it was all cake and icing!

IMG_3988

I did notice a few trends. Macarons are still around, and some cupcakes, but brownie-style slabs are becoming much more popular, and the slices were generous – definitely enough to feed two. I didn’t see many whole cakes, and certainly not for sale, but I suppose they wouldn’t have been that convenient.

Peanut flavour things seems to be increasing in popularity, which I personally find disappointing as I’m allergic to them, and it possibly suggests an American influence. Flavours definitely tended towards the sweet and spicy, rather than fruit, so cinnamon, caramel and chocolate were everywhere.

Decorated wrappers, colouring sprays and other accessories were everywhere. I was tempted again by a patterned rolling pin, which rolls out beautiful icing, but I don’t know if I can really justify it… I guess I need a bigger kitchen.

I love cake. I love baking. But I think I would be hard-pushed to spend all day there if I’m totally honest. I had a lovely couple of hours, but that was enough for me.

Leave a Reply

