Soup-Up Sunday: White Bean and Chorizo Soup

Chorizo Soup.jpg

I occasionally make soup on a Sunday, and then take it into work throughout the week. It makes me feel wholesome, and ready to face the week ahead. It also saves me the faff of making sandwiches, which I don’t really enjoy doing. Most often, I remember that I have to make sandwiches just before I’m going to bed, and it feels like a real chore. With soup, I can just scoop a portion into my microwaveable soup mug and I’m good to go.

I think white beans (cannellini or butter beans work well) and chorizo are a fairly well established combination. The earthy softness of the beans works well against the smoky spice of the chorizo. I adapted this recipe from a BBC Good Food one; I think it’s fairly forgiving, so feel free to adapt and deviate from this one.

Ingredients

  • 100g chorizo
  • 1 onion
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 2 tsp thyme leaves
  • 2 carrots
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 2 cans tomatoes
  • 2 300g cans beans – I used 1 of butter bean, 1 of cannellini

Method

  1. Slice the chorizo into slices of the thickness of a pound coin. Heat a large saucepan and gently fry the chorizo for 2 minutes, until the oil is released.
  2. Remove the chorizo from the pan and put aside.
  3. Chop the onion, garlic and carrots finely. Add to the pan with the thyme leaves and let saute in the chorizo oil until soft.
  4. Add the paprika and tomatoes. Bring to a boil, then simmer for 20 minutes.
  5. Stir in the beans and then simmer for a further ten minutes. Season to taste.

 

 

Leave a Reply

