En Vacances en France

For our second summer holiday this year, we went to France. We weren’t really planning to do a foreign holiday while Ben was so small, but we were offered a week in Chalais in the Charente region of France, at the home of some friends. We asked Tim’s parents to come with us, and all had a lovely time.

Of course, for me, a real highlight was the French food, and particularly the patisserie.

Macarons from Angouleme were delicious:

photo copy 5photo copy 4

A meal at the Chateau Talleyrand restaurant was a really special date night for Tim and I:

photo copy 8

My crab starter had the most incredible foam sauce I have ever tasted.

photo copy 10

I had the guinea fowl for the main course:

photo copy 9

I did have the creme brulee for dessert, but it appears that I am a terrible food blogger who didn’t take a photo.

However, I did take a photo of the chocolate dessert we had at a restaurant at Aubeterre, close to Chalais. At this restaurant, we had the set menu: Quiche Lorraine, followed by Confit Duck with potatoes and vegetables and a Chocolate Dessert. The weather was cool and damp on this day, so we were happy to eat well at lunch and sleep it off during the afternoon.

photo copy 7

Going abroad with an almost 1 year old wasn’t nearly as stressful as I had expected. The airlines make it as easy as possible for you, letting you keep your buggy with you until you literally board the plane. Ben was very obliging and slept for most of the flight out and home. We found formula, nappies and baby food very easily in the supermarket, and he took to French food like a real gastronome. When it got hot, he coped well, and loved paddling in the river and the baby pool at a local campsite. I have to say, taking Grandparents on holiday with you is my top tip for the first year!

2 thoughts on “En Vacances en France

    • It’s delicious. I saw Jamie Oliver making it once on television and it didn’t look very hard, but I think maybe it’s best left as a holiday delicacy. Do the tinned ones taste good?

Leave a Reply

