The Foodies Festival

Last week, we had a family day out to The Foodies Festival at Tatton Park. As you may expect, it’s a food and drink festival. It ran Friday-Sunday, and we attended on the Friday (the joys of maternity leave). I love events like this, and the Foodies Festival didn’t disappoint.

The highlights for us were the demonstrations and talks. Bizarrely, even though it was very quiet on the day we attended, you had to get a ticket to attend each demonstration. I suppose for some of the events this was more important than others – at the cake decorating demonstration I attended, the marquee was only a third full. At the beer tasting, it was packed out.

The beer tasting was an excellent event, and I learned a lot about beer. To be honest, I don’t drink much beer – the odd bitter shandy is about as far as I’ll go – but Tim does like beer. What I love about tastings is that you get to try things that you wouldn’t try normally. We both really enjoyed some of the dark ales, including one aged in bourbon barrels, but would never have purchased them in a pub. The tasting was run by Melissa Cole, and her website is here.

IMG_3390 IMG_3391 IMG_3394

In the afternoon, I had a blissful hour as Tim took Ben to wander around the stalls while I watched a demonstration by The Creative Cookie Company on cake decorating. A lot of it was aimed at selling their products – stencils and patterned rolling pins – but I did learn a lot about working with sugar paste, which I don’t have much experience with. The cupcakes in particular looked amazing, and I have got my eye on their Damask Rose stencil.

 IMG_3396 IMG_3397 IMG_3399 IMG_3400 IMG_3401 IMG_3402 IMG_3403

I know it’s all part of the show, but the stencils do look really easy to use. I have to admit I was slightly fascinated by the ‘kit.’

IMG_3404 IMG_3405

The Foodies Festival is on over the summer at various locations across the country. I highly recommend it.

Leave a Reply

