Cloth Nappies Part 2: How we chose our nappies

This week is Real Nappy Week. If you’re thinking of investing in cloth nappies, this is a good week to buy – lots of sites have discounts. I’ve used Cheeks and Cherries and The Nappy Lady in the past, and both have been good. In celebration of Real Nappy Week, I thought I’d post about our system.

We were keen on using cloth nappies when we were pregnant. However, I found the different brands and types quite confusing: did we want pockets or all-in-ones? How would we get on with wrappers? Which brand was the best? Cloth nappies are an investment, with each new nappy costing around £15.00, so I wanted to get it right. After talking with some friends who used cloth nappies, I made a decision: I wouldn’t start using them until Ben was 3 months old. We would use disposables until then, and get to grips with things.

So Ben was in Pampers for the first 12 weeks of his life. This was fine; we found the brands which worked for us. As an aside, I wouldn’t recommend stocking up in advance of the baby’s birth; we found one brand was absolutely hopeless and didn’t bother to use up the packet. Other mums I’ve spoken to love that brand and wouldn’t use any other. I guess it depends on your baby.

I met several other mums, and heard their recommendations. I filled out the questionnaire on The Nappy Lady website. I filled our black bin to overflowing with disposable nappies. The sooner we could get into cloth, the better.

Several friends had recommended Cheeky Wipes, so I did get these before Ben was born, and I was really pleased that I did. You should only use plain water and cotton wool on your baby for the first six weeks or so, but we quickly moved on to using plain water and a Cheeky Wipe. They’re really effective at clearing up the mess, and I highly recommend them. I have several friends who use Cheeky Wipes with disposable nappies as that system works for them. I just put the mucky wipes in their drawstring bag in a hot wash when I was doing one.

Anyway, back to the nappies. I was cautious, and decided to buy a sample of a couple of nappies that I had been recommended. From The Nappy Lady’s recommendation, I purchased a Bamboozle Stretch nappy with a Motherease Rikki Wrap. On a friend’s recommendation, I tried a Bumgenius v4.0 and a Bumgenius Freetime.

After the first use, I knew the Bamboozle stretch with the Rikki Wrap wasn’t for me. It was too fiddly and much too bulky under Ben’s clothes. I was relieved that I hadn’t spend hundreds of pounds on lots of them, as I know people who have done that.

Both the Bumgenius nappies worked well. The v4.0 was a pocket nappy, having a microfibre cloth insert. Although it is slightly more fiddly to put together than the all-in-one, I’ve found that they are more reliable in terms of leaks. They also seem to dry slightly quicker.

The Freetime nappy is great for when you’re out and about – it’s really quick and easy to use, and you don’t have to assemble them in any way. These were a bit more unreliable when Ben was younger, and I found that they leaked if he wore them for a long nap, but as he has grown he seems to fit them better.

We managed to buy 20 v3.0 (the earlier version of the v4.0) second hand. This was brilliant, as it set us up immediately. We also bought 10 Freetimes. Our system was set up.

At night time, Ben still wears a disposable nappy. He has very sensitive skin, so I don’t want to leave him in a wet nappy overnight as this will cause nappy rash. He also seems to what is politely called a ‘heavy wetter,’ and the disposables cope with this a bit better. I’d certainly rather be throwing away 7 disposables a week rather than 50. We also use disposables and disposable wipes when we go away, as it is more convenient.

 

Leave a Reply

