Roasted Vegetable Salad

Winter Salad

After a week away on holiday, with plenty of cake, lunches out and the occasional glass of wine, I felt the need to have a mini-health kick today. The problem with health-kicks at this time of year is that the cold weather isn’t conducive to eating cold salads. I don’t want to eat imported tomatoes and cucumber in March; I want to make the most of what the British seasons have to offer.

This warm salad is delicious, filling, and really healthy. Just by looking at the colours on the plate, you know it has all the good stuff in it. The yellow beetroot was an absolute find; I like the taste of beetroot but hate the purple appearance, and the way it stains everything else on the plate. I’ve tried to grow yellow beetroot before, but have had no success. I found this one in Booths in Clitheroe, which is a lovely supermarket, stocking lots of seasonal fruit and vegetables.

The roasted apple really ties all the flavours together, and marries well with the celeriac and goats cheese in particular. I didn’t make a dressing, although it occurs to me that one based on cider vinegar would work well.

I am submitting this in March’s Simple and in Season. This month, it is hosted by Chez Foti. It’s a great idea and I’m hoping this will be a blogging challenge that I’ll return to again and again.

Image

I was hungry, so the quantities here served me alone. Please don’t judge me for that – it’s mostly vegetables!

Ingredients

4 small carrots, peeled
1/4 celeriac, peeled
1 apple
1 golden beetroot, peeled
Thyme
50g hard goats cheese

Method

1. Preheat the oven to 160C.

2. Chop the vegetables and apple into similar sized pieces, reserving 1/4 of the beetroot.

3. Arrange the vegetables on a baking tray, drizzle with olive oil and season. Scatter over the thyme leaves.

4. Roast in the oven for 20 minutes until the apple is very soft and the other vegetables are soft.

5. Arrange the roasted vegetables on a plate. Thinly slice the reserved beetroot. Place the raw beetroot on top of the vegetables.

6. Cut the cheese into small chunks or slivers. Scatter over the vegetables.

Winter Salad

I am submitting this in March’s Simple and in Season.

 

7 thoughts on “Roasted Vegetable Salad

  1. Pingback: March Simple and in Season: Now Open! | Chez Foti

  2. Sounds like a wonderful idea for a healthy winter salad. Much as I love red beetroot it’s staining of everything else girlie pink can be a tad off putting! Thanks so much for entering Simple and in Season.

  3. Pingback: March’s Simple and in Season Round-Up | Chez Foti

  4. Pingback: March Simple and in Season: Now Open! | Eat your veg

Leave a Reply

